About

UH CIIHE’s mission is to advance community-centered ancestral and cultural practices as the intervention to improve holistic health for Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (NHPI) populations through research initiatives, policy strategies, and economic development initiatives that are all co-produced with community.

Goals

  1. At the community level, investment is being driven into community organizations.
  2. At the university level, research is co-designed with community and supports ancestral practices done in contemporary application.
  3. At the government level, Indigenous communities are repositioned as spaces of innovation and their practices and people are thriving.

Initiatives

Research Pillar

Policy Pillar

Student Development

Education and Training

Values

Pewa Framework

The framing principle for CIIHE’s work is called the Pewa Framework, intended to ensure equity, transparency, and reciprocity. A “pewa” is a wedge pattern used in traditional Hawaiian woodwork to prevent splitting and patch holes. It has become a symbol of healing in Native Hawaiian communities of practice.

Contact

Principal Investigator

Kamuela Enos, MA

 kenos@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-8089

Co-Principal Investigator

Aimee Malia Grace, MD, FAAP

amgrace@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-8069

Operations Manager

Rachelle Robley

 rrobley@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-8390

‘Āina-based Organizations Coordinator

Puna Sabagala, MPH

 puna.sabagala@hawaii.edu

Policy Coordinator

Beatriz Aurelio, MPH

beatriza@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-6036

 

Research Coordinator

Dejah Fa‘asoa, MPH

dejah24@hawaii.edu

 

Project Administrator

Shanda Delos Reyes

sdr7@hawaii.edu

(808) 956-6013

 Graduate Assistant

Heejung Sin

sinh@hawaii.edu

 

CIIHE Alumni

  • Johnny Aldan, Jr., MPH (Data & Policy Analyst)
  • Sharde Freitas, MPH, JD (Data & Policy Analyst)
  • Ikaika Ramones, PhD (‘Āina-based Organizations Liaison)